Appealing Rabbit Alphabet Cards | Review, Competition and FREE Printables

alphabet4Appealing Rabbit Alphabet Cards | Review, Competition and FREE Printables

I’m slowly but surely getting into Twitter. It’s the hardest social media for me to get used to but I find so many great things on there.

One day I received a tweet about some writing practice cards by Appealing Rabbit.

I loved the name, logo and the product and then they story even more. The cards were designed by a father around the kitchen table in Norway. His now 6 year old was struggling to form his letters correctly and Dad decided it was time to do something about it. He took a blank piece of paper and ….

‘I drew an ice hockey field. I drew two goal keepers and several pucks around the field. My son’s goal was to use the pucks as a guide to allow him to form a perfect letter “C” around each puck. If he made the letter correctly,he would score a goal. If not, I would get the point instead. In a matter of minutes, my son was motivated and began making perfect “C’s”.’ 

Sven-Erik Bergman Founder & father of three.

Sven offered to send me a pack of his cards. I jumped at the chance as my little man, although only 3, has a real interest in writing and loves writing his name, writing on top of the letters that I write using a highlighter.

When the cards arrives, ‘A’ could not wait to give them a go. He loved the pictures and they captivated him for long enough! After a while I showed him the pen and explained the idea. I didn’t go so far as to play the game that is suggested on the box as I wanted him to just try them out.

What’s in the box?

There are 29 letter cards. 26 English letters and 3 letters that complete the Danish and Norwegian Alphabet.

A scoreboard card

A pen with Eraser

alpahbetcollage

Well, that was that. he sat and wrote the entire alphabet! Not perfectly but who cares, he’s 3! When I showed him the eraser on the top of the pen, that set him off at rubbing all the writing out and starting again.

He did this a couple of times and then we moved onto something else. The next time we got them out, I spelt out his name and he practiced that a couple of times before finishing the alphabet again.

alphabet2

When he’s a little older, I’ll introduce the game option which is where your child gets a point for every letter that they write correctly and a penalty for ones that stray. I think it’s a great option for sparking an interest to write correctly but think it’s better for slightly older children as I don’t want my son to feel deflated at such a young age when his fine motor control is still developing.

Little man loves the cards. They are an almost daily activity for him and his control of the pen and the formation of the letters is really improving.

One thing that I would suggest is to look at how writing individual letters is taught in your country so that you can start correctly so that they don’t develop bad habits that will have to be unlearnt when they start school. Also, encourage the correct tripod grasp of the pen. I have included some FREE Printable charts below to show how your child will be taught or is taught to form their letters at school in the UK.

The only thing that I wish were different about the cards is that I wish they were available in lowercase. In the UK, children learn to read phonetically and when they start to learn to recognise the alphabet, they learn lowercase first. That would make these perfect for me.

I also added a little something to the game for my son – I wrote the letter that he was about to try, first on a piece of paper. As he is so young, he cannot recognise the alphabet and so he couldn’t quite see from all of the pictures, what letter he was writing. Maybe a poster showing each picture card with the normal letter beside would be a good addition to the pack? Just a thought.

I wholeheartedly recommend this pack of cards to any child from 3 years old or anyone who can hold a pencil and shows an interest. The game option means that I will appeal to older children too. It is a great rainy day activity at home but would also travel well to keep a child amused on a plane or train.

alphabet3

That is the entire English Alphabet written by my 3 year old son. I am more than impressed.

I am holding a competition for a reader to win a pack of these fabulous cards with an RRP of £9.90.

All entries must be received by 12am 25/08/15.

Please click on the Rafflecopter form below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Click each link below for the free printables of how to teach children to write the alphabet.

Printable Alphabet Writing Sheet CAPITALS

Printable Alphabet Writing Sheet lowercase

Printable Writing Sheet Numbers

Disclosure: I was gifted the Appealing Rabbit Alphabet Cards for the purpose of the review and as always, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Love

headeramend2

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Family Fever
Follow:
Share:

52 Comments

  1. Anthony Harrington
    28/07/2015 / 07:01

    my little Grandson is coming up for 2 years old, he would love these, he is enjoying learning the alphabet.

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:52

      What a lovely grandad you are. Good luck!

  2. 28/07/2015 / 08:45

    These look absolutely gorgeous – the perfect size to have in your handbag to keep little ones occupied during a meal out 🙂

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:52

      You’re right. They are perfect for that x

  3. Catherine McAlinden
    28/07/2015 / 09:41

    I’d like to win them for my 4yo who is starting school in September. He’d love to be able to write his letters a bit neater!

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:52

      Bless him x

  4. iain maciver
    28/07/2015 / 10:14

    this would be for my niece or nephew

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:51

      That’s sweet of you. Fingers crossed!

  5. aj
    28/07/2015 / 11:59

    2 1/2

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:51

      Good luck!

  6. Becca Staples
    28/07/2015 / 12:53

    I would like to win these for my twin boys who are 3 years old x

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:51

      3 year old twin boys! I bow down to you! I could not cope with two of my little man! Good luck x

  7. Lucy
    28/07/2015 / 13:48

    I have a 6 year old who is struggling with her writing and gets very upset about it. These would help her a lot and keep her engaged for longer than 2 minutes xx

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:50

      Oh bless her. There’s so much pressure these days on little ones. These would make it more fun for her. Fingers crossed x

  8. Martina Pichova
    28/07/2015 / 16:49

    My son is 4 and 1/2, starting school in September and this would encourage him to practice his letters.

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:48

      They certainly would! Good luck

  9. Keith Hunt
    28/07/2015 / 17:34

    Age 3 and just look fun for my sisters child.

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:47

      Fingers crossed. What a thoughtful Uncle you are

  10. Jade H
    28/07/2015 / 18:20

    These would be good for my cousin who is three.

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:47

      That’s kind of you to enter for your cousin, how lovely x

  11. 28/07/2015 / 19:19

    My kids are aged 22 months, 5 years and 7 years so they could all have a go with the cards and enjoy them 🙂

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:46

      That’s great. You’d get real use out of them. Fingers crossed!

  12. Ruth Harwood
    29/07/2015 / 10:06

    My niece who’s 3 and loves games and learning xx

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:46

      Good luck to you

  13. Mrs Tracy Newton
    29/07/2015 / 14:26

    My little one is three. He is showing interest in letters and words. These would be great for introducing him to reading and writing

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:45

      Good on him!

  14. Laura Pritchard
    29/07/2015 / 16:32

    My son who is 4 – they’d be great for supporting his learning at school in September.

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:44

      Oh crikey, school in September. That’s us next year! Fingers crossed for you

  15. 29/07/2015 / 22:15

    my daughter is 1 and it would be great for her to get used to abc from small

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:43

      Good luck!

  16. lynn heath
    30/07/2015 / 09:29

    My daughter is nearly 3 and shows a real interest in drawing and colouring, but my 6 year old son really struggles with his handwriting too so I would want them for both of them!

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:42

      Fingers crossed for you!

  17. 02/08/2015 / 20:55

    My daughter is 20 months old nearly, and I would love to win these as I think they would make a great Birthday or Christmas pressie (her birthday is December so I have to start thinking about these things early!

    • Hannah Atkinson
      03/08/2015 / 18:35

      Oh great. I am like you and try to plan ahead although this year I’ve not got started yet! Good luck!

  18. Clare Hubbard
    14/08/2015 / 22:13

    My son is two and is learning so much at the moment, these would be perfect 🙂

    • Hannah Atkinson
      14/08/2015 / 23:27

      It’s crazy when they have these leaps and just learn, learn, learn! Fingers crossed

  19. Danielle Creswell
    14/08/2015 / 22:37

    My son is 3 and practicing his Abc’s so this would be fab

    • Hannah Atkinson
      14/08/2015 / 23:27

      Oh good luck!

  20. Claire Barker
    23/08/2015 / 11:28

    My nephew is three and a half and would really enjoy these cards, he loves to draw and rabbits so these cards would really encourage him to happily learn his ABC’s.

  21. Lizzy Cooper
    23/08/2015 / 15:23

    My son is 2 and I would like to win so we can use them to teach him to write 🙂

  22. Eleanor Powell
    23/08/2015 / 19:28

    For my 1 year old grandson

  23. Vickie Jackson
    24/08/2015 / 08:41

    I’d love to win these for my 3 year old. She’s just at the age where she wants to write like mummy (not daddy because his writing is terrible!)
    Her younger brother is 2 so they’d be used in quick succession 🙂

  24. Natalie Baugh
    24/08/2015 / 09:32

    I have two boys, Jays 6 and Rhys is nearly 2 so would be perfect for my little one 🙂

  25. Andrew Grange
    24/08/2015 / 11:14

    I would love to win this for my 3 year old nephew, he would have great fun with these.

  26. Susan B
    24/08/2015 / 11:21

    Six years old and loves card games, especially playing with adults. If this awful weather continues, we’ll need plenty of indoor entertainment!

  27. 24/08/2015 / 12:47

    Zoe is 3 and starting to recognise letters – these cards will really help!!

  28. Natalie Gaff
    24/08/2015 / 14:56

    2 next month, because I’d like to progress her learning and these cards would be perfect for the job

  29. Samantha Atherton
    24/08/2015 / 19:45

    I’d love to win these for my daughter whose just turned 4, she’s starting school in september and I’d like to help her along with her letter recognition as she’s still a bit unsure of some and improve her writing as well.

  30. Jessica Townley
    24/08/2015 / 20:42

    My little boy is 2 years old and is behind with his speech, he’s yet to say two words together. I think these will be great in helping him with his letters and talking. 🙂

  31. Fiona Hogan
    24/08/2015 / 21:05

    my Granddaughter is two and would love this. My grandson is only one but he also enjoys looking at colours so this prize at our house would be great.

  32. Claire Ward
    24/08/2015 / 23:38

    For my god daughter who’s two and just starting to talk properly

  33. Natalie Crossan
    25/08/2015 / 01:57

    My daughter,3 years old 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

TOTS100 - UK Parent Blogs
TOTS100